Chicken Korma, Aloo Gobi and Pilau Rice – The Lovey Levin Way

keep-korma-and-curry-on-150My Guy Bri took me out for Indian earlier this week and it left me for a taste in my mouth… I wanted MORE!! Bri suggested I try Korma again. It’s naturally Gluten Free. He also asked for Pilau rice and Aloo Gobi. Pilau rice is just fragrant rice and it’s really really delicious. Aloo Gobi is spicy cauliflower and potatoes (I think the potatoes are optional but I put them in there).

I wanted to do my Korma in the slow cooker so I wasn’t attached to the stove for hours. It was our last beautiful day of the season (supposedly) and the last thing I wanted was to be glued to the stove when it was sunny and 75 outside! So Lovey Levin helped me prep dinner at 9AM!

Chicken Korma – Easy Peasy Lovey Levin Crock Pot Style! (Moderately Spicy)

I modified a recipe from AllRecipes.com – found here!

What I did will be in RED, the first items listed are in the original recipe!

Ingredients

  • 1 large onion – skinned and quartered

  • 3 garlic cloves OR 1 heaping Tablespoon of minced garlic
  • 4cm (1 1/2inch) fresh root ginger, peeled OR 2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 large chilli, seeds discarded OR 1.5 dried chili, seeds discarded
  • 8 boneless, skinless chicken thighs OR 4 breasts
  • 1 tablespoon sunflower oil OR sesame seed oil
  • 2 Tablespoon Butter
  • 1 teaspoon cumin seeds, crushed or 1 teaspoon of ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon fennel seeds, crushed OR Anise seeds
  • 4 cardamom pods, crushed or 1/2 teaspoon of cardamom seeds
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 teaspoon ground turmeric
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I omitted)
  • 10oz chicken stock
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/3 c double cream OR coconut milk
  • 2 tablespoon ground almonds or cashews (I omitted)
  • pinch salt

DirectionsIMG_1953

  1. Blend the onions, garlic, ginger and chilli in a blender or chop very finely. I tossed mine in my Nutribullet. I also put a bit of Sesame Seed Oil in there to keep things moving!
  2. Cut each thigh or breast into 4 – 6 pieces, heat the oil in a large frying pan and add the chicken. Cook over a high heat until evenly browned. Remove from pan and place in slow cooker. DO NOT OVERCOOK!
  3. Add the butter to the pan and when melted add the onion mixture. Cook over moderate heat for 3 IMG_1954minutes. Add all the spices and cook for a further minute. I browned this a bit too. We like a bit of a smoky flavor, or so My Guy Bri tells me.IMG_1955
  4. Mix in chicken stock, sugar and salt into the Crock Pot along with the onion mixture. Give it a stir.
  5. Cover and cook for 5 – 7 hours on Low (or 3 hours on high).
  6. Add the cream or coconut milk (and ground up nuts). Serve with rice.

ALOO GOBI –

Aloo means potato and Gobi means cauliflower

IMG_1984So yeah, we cheated. We had a premix seasoning packet. It’s not our usual route, but it WAS labelled Gluten Free and Organic!!! And I had to add plenty of ingredients. This packet is made from Arora Creations, and you can purchase it here!

Ingredients

In addition to this lovely packet you will need

  • 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh sliced ginger
  • 1/4 cup chopped green chili (I omitted)
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 cauliflower, cut into small florets
  • 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2-3 boiled and diced potatoes

directions

  1. Heat oil in a large pan over medium heat for 1 minute.
  2. Add ginger, tomatoes and stir evenly for 1 minute.
  3. Add Seasoning Packet and stir for an additional 2 minutes over medium heat.
  4. Add cauliflower and cook over medium heat for about 15 minutes, stir occasionally. For the last 5 minutes, stir in the potatoes.
  5. *Add 1/2 cup of water to mixture for extra sauce if you would like. We did not.

Pilau Rice

This is such a great versatile rice. It’s so fragrant and tasty! And SIMPLE to make! I tossed everything in my steamer!

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of Basmati or Jasmine rice
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon of cardamom seeds
  • a few dashes of fennel seeds.
  • a few strings of saffron (if you have it)
  • enough chicken stock in lieu of water.
  • 1 medium onion, chopped fine.

Directions

  1. Rinse rise, if you need to
  2. Put rice, along with appropriate amount of chicken stock into rice steamer (you can also toss all of this into a large pot with a tight fitting lid and follow regular rice cooking directions).
  3. quickly fry up onions with a little oil of your choosing, I used peanut oil, until translucent.
  4. Add rest of ingredients to steamer pot. Cook until done! VOILA!

IMG_2001

What say you??

