We’re BAAA-AACK! Our Summer Adventure ReCap!

I don’t know about your summer, but our summer was ANYTHING but boring!! Rosie had her expander and braces put on, I had wisdom teeth pulled, Andrew started his last year of Midgets football,  we bought a CABIN BY A LAKE, I met my FAVORITE AUTHOR (AHHHH!!) and Levin has grown tremendously! We have stayed so busy!

Rosie - 1st day and Kindergarten and last day of 4th Grade

Rosie – 1st day and Kindergarten and last day of 4th Grade

Rosie finished her Elementary school career! She had awesome

Junior High, Here she comes!

Junior High, Here she comes!

grades and we are so incredibly proud of her!! She was so excited to finish this chapter and start a new one. It kind of makes me sad to see her growing up so quickly. I don’t remember Andrew making such a big deal out of this transition. Her excitement rubs off on me and I get caught up in her moments!

IMG_9357

I had some wisdom teeth pulled this summer. Let me tell you, I have never experienced such

Did I swallow a winter's supply of food?

Did I swallow a winter’s supply of food?

pain in my life (short of giving birth). I also strongly resembled Mr. Incredible from the Disney/ Pixar movie. It was quite hilarious, from that perspective. It took me nearly three weeks to eat normally. The silver lining was that it got me over my weight loss plateau. There’s always a silver lining 😉

10616711_10152703072765329_1568283106680734053_n

Check out the young man in the second row, on the left! That’s Lovey Levin’s big brother Andrew! This is his last year of Midgets football. He’s number 25!

IMG_9032

I met Diana Gabaldon!! HOLY SHIT! You DO know who she is, right?? Only the BEST 10177410_679483318777547_3453728015188132093_nAUTHOR EVER!!! She wrote the Outlander Series, amongst various other books and technical articles and a few comics.  I was just beside myself with excitement!! I have so many pictures of our “Gathering” (OUR being an Outlander PA group that I helped create) but I didn’t want to put them all up here and turn Levin’s food blog into an Outlander Blog, which I could very easily do!! As if this summer couldn’t get better for my Outlandish addiction, my favorite book is now a TV Series on Starz! You can watch the first episode here!

I’m saving the best for last! You know how Mark Walhberg Bought a Zoo, in the movies? IMG_9573Well, we bought a HUGE chunk of land! And we IMG_0325 - Copylove it!! It has a rustic two room cabin. One room has three bunks and a woodstove. The second room has a kitchen setup, a large table and an open area. Next to the cabin is a 2-3 acre lake. There’s a shed/ garage to house guy things! Next to the shed we found a really old IMG_0324 - Copytruck that was quite literally stuck in the mud. We guess that it’s a 1937 Chevy pick up truck. It looks like it has a wooden snow plow attached to it’s front. It looks awesome!!

IMG_0319 - CopyIMG_0312 - CopyIMG_0323 - CopyIMG_0308 - Copy

IMG_0211 - CopyWe love exploring the property and finding new things! IMG_0197 - CopyThere’s so much to learn about! This place is truly “Out There”. No electricity, no running water, Off the grid! We DO have propane, which makes cooking easy. But we still have to poo in a hole. We are working on an upgrade for that, this fall.

IMG_9553IMG_9888IMG_9840

Be sure to check in next week for some awesome recipes featuring yummy vegetables and an awesome new recipe modified from the Moosewood Cookbook!

Lovey Levin also helped me make a Carrot Cheesecake just the other day, from scratch, completely gluten free of course!

We have lots to say, so you will have lots to read! xoxo

What say you??

